United Sounds of America: Detroit

Upcoming Events / June 2011 / United Sounds of America: Detroit

United Sounds of America: Detroit

Friday, June 17, 2011, 8 pm
Chicago Symphony Center
220 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL

While Detroit is synonymous with Motown Records, the city also boasts a rich history of jazz, rhythm & blues, gospel, rock & roll, hip-hop and techno. Singer-songwriter and guitarist Marshall Crenshaw developed this concert, focusing primarily on the jazz, rock and R&B scene of yesterday and today in Detroit, featuring special guest Regina Carter as well as the great lady of soul Bettye LaVette, Brendan Benson of the Raconteurs, and Mick Collins of the Dirtbombs. 

Marshall Crenshaw, guitar and vocals
Special Guest Regina Carter, violin
Bettye LaVette, vocals
Brendan Benson, guitar and vocals
Mick Collins, guitar and vocals
Wayne Kramer, guitar
Amp Fiddler, keyboards and vocals
Ralphe Armstrong, bass
Louis Hayes, drums 
GayeLynn McKinney, drums

Check out the promotional video! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OtoAOxy8Slk

Click to download USA materials
United Sounds of America materials

(.zip file)

What’s Included?

Press Release